這個故事並不陌生: 大型企業遭遇資料外洩。 有 43% 是內部人士所為。1 其他部分則是因為粗心大意的員工把筆記型電腦放在不該留的地方。 或是,惡意威脅者破解虛弱易駭密碼或預設的管理用使用者名稱所致。 不過,外洩事件最終還是發生了,並且結果是一樣的: 損失金錢、時間和聲譽,企業則是急忙趕著及時補強防禦措施,以防下一次的攻擊。

整體而言,在 2019 年上半年就有超過 41 億筆的資料記錄受到資料外洩事件的影響。 至於遭到曝光的資料本身,數量最多就是電子郵件 (佔了外洩資料的 70%),其次是密碼 (65%)。2

那麼,問題是出在哪裡呢?

網路周邊幾乎不復存在。 保護企業的傳統方法已經不再勝任。 員工不再在辦公室區域內工作,而是在全球各地的遠端地點工作。 此外,網路罪犯現在更以這些員工為攻擊目標,因為經由他們取得攻擊破口比滲透網路周邊來得簡單得多。 跟 512 位元的雜湊函式比起來,員工非常容易被破解。 在多數大型企業組織中,被允許進入系統的使用者數量有多少,駭客能夠進入的端點數量就有多少。

簡言之,請把員工想像成新的周邊,把身分當成新的防火牆。

61% 的安全與技術領袖對於以 WFH 員工為目標的攻擊行動感到擔憂。3

進入途徑眾多

安全性領導者現今面臨的部分問題,不僅在於其系統架構中的每位使用者都是存取點,還在於駭客有許多方法可以操縱這些使用者。

社交工程

從 Twitter 和 Facebook 到 LinkedIn 和 Whatsapp,全世界熱衷參與社交媒體的人為數眾多。 這些社群網站帶來了溝通的新時代,使我們可以輕鬆地互相交流。 但是,它們也讓我們每個人更有機會洩漏更多的資訊。 惡意威脅者可能會不經意地問:「你上次那筆下單買的東西結果如何?」或故意傳訊說「哇,你的這些照片太可怕了」,引誘我們按下惡意程式連結。我們現在很容易無意之間就洩露資訊。 有時候,光是透過社交媒體而曝光的簡單資訊,如人際連結,就足以遭到駭客利用。

網路釣魚

對我們幾乎所有人而言,電子郵件仍然是商務溝通的主要形式,但我們每天淹沒在各種訊息之中,以至於要發現假郵件變得極度困難 雖然有時可以透過錯字和仿造標誌一眼看出一些技巧不嫻熟的駭客手法,但也有其他的網路釣魚看起來就像真的一樣,讓人忍不住點選。 只要點一下,即為惡意人士開啟了入侵大門。

員工疏忽

對於將筆記型電腦任意隨處擱放,或是鍵盤上便條貼寫滿所有帳號密碼這種錯誤行為示範,我們早已司空見慣。 然而,我們還是在時下各類公司組織中看到共用密碼憑證這種常見卻危險的作法。

只要其中一個曝露點遭到入侵,就會造成問題。 而每個曝露點都與一個人 – 亦即一個身分 – 有關。 人為因素直接或間接造成資訊遺失,是最常發生的狀況,無論其本意是惡意或無心。

47% 的人在工作和個人帳戶間使用重複的密碼。4

並非所有方法都能保證安全

正如駭客有多種方法可以找到入侵途徑,各類公司組織也已經建立了許多方法來加強防護。

網路安全

雖然增加投資或堆疊更多防火牆可能不是公司組織的優先考慮事項,但網路安全仍是安全基礎架構的重要組成部分。

端點安全

時下的商業活動,仰賴諸如智慧型手機、筆記型電腦和平板電腦等設備。我們必須繼續保護這些設備的安全。 然而,既有的端點安全機制,僅僅保護了儲存在這些設備上的資料。標準功能包括多因子驗證、資料加密和自動裝置抹除機制。 其中不包括從這些智慧型設備存取敏感資料、或新增額外驗證程序以確保由合適的人員存取該類資料的原則。

資料安全

我們的資料已從資料中心轉移到雲端,因此我們必須改進方法以因應這個不斷變化的環境。 我們創建了很多資料 (有些非常敏感),卻隨意到處儲存。 類似 Oracle 和 SAP 的結構化系統,不再是金融資料唯一存儲的地方。 該等資料,還會存在於簡報檔案、電子郵件以及雲端中。 這些資料全部都需要加以保護。

身分

身分管理是現今安全性議題的核心。這不單單僅是授與員工應用程式、系統和資料存取權的任務而已:這是一個更大、更複雜的問題。 這涉及到管理與治理那些可存取機密敏感資料的所有數位身分,無論那些資料是儲存在系統、雲端應用程式、或是檔案與資料夾中。

IDG 預估,到了 2022 年時,93% 的資料都會變成非結構化資料。5

身分攸關安全

有些人可能認為,身分只與管理企業中某些應用程式或系統的存取權相關。 但是身分不僅只跟存取權有關;它的作用遠不止於此。 身分的應用超過網路,直接與端點管理和資料安全息息相關。 它從組織的安全基礎架構各部分取得資訊,並將所有資訊連結在一起。

企業今天所擁有的系統、應用程式和資料比以往都還多,並且每一部分是相互關聯的。 企業內的使用者包含員工、承包商、供應商、合作夥伴和客戶。 還有這些使用者需要存取的資源。 在這個巨大的網絡之中,組織內的各種系統、應用程式和資料,以及其相互之間的鍵結,都會有一個身分附加其中。

員工、合作夥伴、供應商、承包商等等角色在企業架構下所做的每件事情,都藉其身分,為其活動賦予了內涵。 雲端與本地端應用程式。 連線與離線裝置。 特殊存取權限管理。 結構與非結構化資料。 有了這些內涵,組織就能全盤檢視、全盤治理、並對每個人賦權。

結果是: 如果惡意威脅者選擇的入侵手段,就是針對所有直通企業資源的使用者,那麼您實行安全措施的最低底限,就是保護這些使用者的身分了。

  1. Infosecurity 雜誌,43% 的資料外洩事件由內部的威脅造成 (Insider Threats Responsible for 43% of Data Breaches)
  2. https://www.forbes.com/sites/daveywinder/2019/08/20/data-breaches-expose-41-billion-records-in-first-six-months-of2019/#60387854bd54
  3. https://www.csoonline.com/article/3535195/pandemic-impact-report-security-leaders-weigh-in.html
  4. SailPoint,2018 年市場脈動調查
  5. DarkReading,非結構化資料: 看不見的威脅 (Unstructured Data: The Threat You Cannot See)

瞭解 SailPoint 如何幫助您的企業。

*必填欄位

By submitting this form, you understand and agree that use of SailPoint’s web site is subject to SailPoint Technologies’ Privacy Statement..

It’s a familiar story: a large enterprise experiences a data breach. 43% of the time, it’s from an insider.1 Other times, it’s a negligent employee who’s left a laptop out where they shouldn’t. Or, it’s an easy-to-hack password or default administrative username compromised by malicious actors. However, the breach ended up occurring and the result is the same: lost money, time and reputation, and the organization is left scurrying to catch up their defenses in time for the next attack.

To put this into perspective, in the first half of 2019, over 4.1 billion data records were affected by data breaches. As for the exposed data itself, email was at the top of the list (contained in 70% of breaches) and followed by passwords (65%).2

So, What’s the Problem?

The network perimeter has all but vanished. The traditional approach to protecting the enterprise is no longer sufficient. Workers are no longer found within the confines of an office, but rather are now working from remote locations across the globe. In addition, cyber criminals are now targeting these workers as they represent a much easier alternative to gaining entry than penetrating a network perimeter. Workers are far easier to crack than a 512-bit hash. At most large organization, the number of entry points for a hacker is as populous as the number of users they let into their systems.

Put simply, think of your workers as the new perimeter and identity as your new firewall.

61% of security and technology leaders express concern about attacks targeting WFH employees.3

Many Paths to Entry

Part of the problem facing security leaders today is not just that each user in their infrastructure is a point of access, but there are also many ways in which that user can be manipulated.

Social Engineering

From Twitter and Facebook to LinkedIn and Whatsapp, a good portion of the population is active on social media. These networks have brought about a new age of communication and ease with which we can talk to each other. But, they’ve also opened windows of opportunity for each of us to say too much. Whether we’re tricked into it by a malicious actor who nonchalantly asks ”How is that last deal of yours doing?” or baits us into clicking a malware link after reading ”Wow, these pictures of you are horrible,” it’s now very easy to give away information we didn’t mean to. Sometimes, simple facts like relationships that are exposed through social media are enough for hackers to exploit you.

Phishing

Email is still the primary form of business communication for nearly all of us, but we’re so inundated with messages that fake emails can be extremely tough to spot in the hubbub of the everyday. While the misspellings and almost-correct logos can giveaway some of the less advanced hackers rather quickly, other phishing attempts look just right enough to warrant a click. And it only takes one click for someone to open the door to a malicious party.

Employee Negligence

We’ve seen the headlines of laptops left where they shouldn’t, or the infamous note under the keyboard containing all a user’s passwords. But we’re also still seeing things like credential sharing being a common – and dangerous – practice in today’s organizations.

It only takes one of these points of exposure to be compromised to cause problems. And with each point of exposure, there is a person – an identity – associated to it. More often than not, it’s people that end up either causing or being responsible for loss of information, whether it is malicious or negligent in nature.

47% of people duplicate passwords across work and personal accounts.4

Not All Paths Lead to Security

Just as there are multiple ways for hackers to find their way in, organizations have built many methods by which to protect themselves.

Network Security

While it may not be a top priority for organizations to increase their spending or stack more firewalls on top of what they already have, it doesn’t mean network security isn’t still an important part of an organization’s security infrastructure.

Endpoint Security

Devices such as smartphones, laptops and tablets are requirements of business today, and we have to continue securing them. But endpoint security only secure the data stored on those devices, and standard features include multi-factor authentication, encryption and automatic device wipes. It does not account for the policies for accessing sensitive data from smart devices or adding additional layers of validation to ensure the right person is accessing that data.

Data Security

Our data has shifted from being in data centers to the cloud, and we must evolve our methods to match the changing landscape. We’re creating so much data – some of it incredibly sensitive – and saving it wherever we can. Structured systems like Oracle and SAP aren’t the only places financial data lives anymore. It’s in presentations, emails and the cloud. And all of it needs to be secured.

Identity

Identity management is at the center of security today, and it is a much larger and complex problem than just giving employees access to apps, systems and data. It is about managing and governing the digital identities that get access to sensitive data whether it resides in systems, cloud apps, or in files and folders.

IDG estimates that by 2022, 93% of all data will be unstructured.5

Identity is Security

Some may believe identity is just about governing access to certain applications or systems in an enterprise. But identity is not just access; it’s more than that. Identity goes beyond the network, but ties into both endpoint and data security. It takes information from every piece of an organization’s security infrastructure and ties it all together.

Enterprises have more systems, applications and data than ever before, and each part is interconnected. There are employees, contractors, suppliers, partners and customers. There are resources those users need to access. Each line of connection between each point in the massive web that is an organization’s systems, applications and data has an identity attached to it.

Identity gives context to everything an employee, partner, supplier, contractor, etc. does to the entire enterprise infrastructure. Cloud and on-premises apps. Devices both on- and off-network. Privileged Access Management. Structured and unstructured data. With this context, your organization can see everything, govern everything and empower everyone.

The bottom line is: if the entry method of choice for malicious actors is the users that connect all your organizational resources, protecting those identities must be your security.

  1. Infosecurity Magazine, Insider Threats Responsible for 43% of Data Breaches
  2. https://www.forbes.com/sites/daveywinder/2019/08/20/data-breaches-expose-41-billion-records-in-first-six-months-of2019/#60387854bd54
  3. https://www.csoonline.com/article/3535195/pandemic-impact-report-security-leaders-weigh-in.html
  4. SailPoint, 2018 Market Pulse Survey
  5. DarkReading, Unstructured Data: The Threat You Cannot See

Find out how SailPoint can help your organization.

*required field

By submitting this form, you understand and agree that use of SailPoint’s web site is subject to SailPoint Technologies’ Privacy Statement.