隨著使用者與個別存取點的數量持續增長,風險也隨之升高,尤其是許多企業還保存著數百萬件內含敏感公司資訊及個人身分資訊的檔案、資料夾及其他資料存放庫。 在每個使用者為企業工作的期間,若未採用正確的身分治理方法去管理和監控存取這些應用程式和資料的權限,企業就是讓自己暴露於大範圍的威脅之中。

保障身分安全: 法規遵循的基礎

保障隱私權及機密資料的環境一直在改變,規章愈來愈多、愈來愈複雜,法規遵循的成本也不斷墊高,部署穩健、自動化程度更高的身分治理技術迫在眉睫。 建立穩健的身分治理實務可解決基本的共通問題,即身分及存取控制,因應現在與未來的所有法規遵循需求。

保護存取相關資料的權限是資料隱私權的核心,而穩建的身分治理技術則是保護存取權限的核心。

不停改變的資料隱私權環境

在多個因素交互影響之下 (尤其是與遵循資料隱私權規章要求相關的因素),企業愈來愈需要穩健、自動化程度更高的身分治理技術。

資料環境愈來愈複雜。 不光是企業資料愈來愈多的問題,還必須考量位置變換、重要應用程式相互依存及資料本身的固有價值持續增長等因素。 每個地理區的應用程式、資料存放庫及公有雲中的敏感資料不斷增加,數量變得比以往還要多,其中許多都有自己的一套資料隱私權規章。 重要的業務應用程式益發獨立,因而需要具備對隱私資料的機器對機器存取權限。 例如,電子商務付款交易可透過銀行系統和第三方結算所自動傳送您在網站上輸入的隱私資料。

IDC 預測,到了 2022 年時,在所有新應用程式中,將有 90% 具備微型服務結構;且在所有產品應用程式中,將有 35% 為雲端原生。

隱私資料的數量不斷增長,再加上其價值愈來愈高,這兩個因素對企業同時帶來正面和負面的後果。 優點是企業可運用資料更加瞭解客戶並提供更完善的服務、設定新的產品與做成以產品為導向的決策。 缺點是網路罪犯的目光漸漸鎖定在隱私資料上,包括個人身分資訊 (PII) 以及重要的公司資料,如財務、營業秘密、專利等等。進階的惡意軟體攻擊次數及公開揭露的外洩事件愈來愈多,正是入侵隱私資料的價值不斷增長的慘痛證明。

現今員工的工作地點經常變換,比以往更機動、更偏遠也更多變,因而增加了管理身分治理的難度。 企業想要獲得臨時工、承包商與服務供應商增多帶來的彈性。 員工則持續尋求更靈活的工作型態。 兩者同樣需要在不同裝置間執行簡單、快速的存取作業,也都想要有能力視工作需要轉換工作地點和裝置。 現今員工陣容帶來許多挑戰,影子 IT 的崛起就是很好的例子:像是 DevOps 這類的部門為了提高速度和彈性而規避既定的存取和身分治理措施。

一份在 2019 年針對美國 1200 多名員工所做的調查顯示,有 30% 的人於遠端全職工作。

數位轉型方案如火如荼進行中,有更多針對資料的非人員、自動化存取行動發生,而這也需要身分管理。 擴充而分散的基礎設施即服務 (IaaS) 和在多個公有雲之間執行的工作負載 (直接用於企業,也可用於叫用第三方服務) 仰賴的是自動提供的機器對機器存取權限。 機器人流程自動化 (RPA) 技術的興起,是證明對於確保自動化存取安全的需求愈來愈高的另一個好例子。

法規遵循是永不停歇的工作

資料隱私權規章的數量和範圍將持續擴增,企業因此面臨的後續財務風險也會愈來愈大。 達成和維持法規遵循的工作很容易就會因此失控,尤其眼下已經有很多資料隱私權法律,並且未來還有更多法律陸續頒佈。 透過保障存取安全的方式來保護資料,需要有穩健的身分治理措施,此措施需要能夠因應許多基本的規章規定,並可為日後的法規遵循工作立下穩固的基礎。

產業或行業特定的規章已行之有年。 其中更值得關注的包括美國的 HIPAA,及各國/地區針對保護信用卡隱私資料推出的 PCI DSS。 這些規章的目的都要求

  • 存取權限及身分管控;
  • 瞭解您的敏感資料位於何處;
  • 瞭解誰有權存取;
  • 以不同等級的身分管控措施和原則管理存取權限;
  • 針對必要的稽核程序追蹤與記錄存取行為。

許多引人注目的規章著重在保障消費者資料,而且要求必須披露外洩事件資訊。 歐盟於 2018 年 5 月 25 日頒佈施行的 GDPR 正是一例。 美國則有 2020 年 1 月 1 日頒佈施行的加州消費者隱私保護法 (CCPA)。 其他國家/地區也實施了自己的資料隱私權及外洩事件規章:

  • 巴西的一般資料保護法 (Lei Geral de Proteção de Dados 或稱 LGPD);
  • 南非的個人資訊保護法 (POPI);
  • 菲律賓於 2012 年頒佈的資料隱私權法 (PDPA);
  • 澳洲的聯邦隱私權法及隱私權準則 (APP)。

法規遵循始於清楚掌握 PII 資料

現有的原則可協助您找出並歸類檔案儲存庫或雲端 (AWS、Azure 和 GCP) 上的個人身份資訊 (PII)。

識別本地端或公有雲 (即 AWS、Azure、GCP) 上的 PII 資料。

識別過時 PII 資料或儲存在不當位置的資料。

識別可供公開存取或沒有資料負責人的 PII 資料,以便採取行動控制存取權限。

HIPAA 及身分治理

提供及時、適當的病患記錄存取權限:針對誰有權於什麼時間在何處存取哪些內容,為醫療保健業者提供更多的資訊及更大的掌控度。

降低營運成本:簡化存取系統和應用程式的流程,並改善臨床醫師之間的資料共享狀況。

促成遵循法規要求的資料共享:減輕讓未獲授權的使用者接觸到敏感資訊的風險。

透過稽核流程記錄達成法規遵循。

除了上述範例中的身分存取控制規定之外,消費者導向的規章也要求:

  • 讓消費者取得跟自身相關的所有已收集資料;
  • 可刪除其資料,並選擇不出售其個人資料;
  • 要求將其資料轉移給另一個服務供應商;
  • 擁有被遺忘的權利,以及在發生資料外洩事件時,於指定的有限期間內通知所有當事方。

SailPoint 可協助將資料保護作業自動化

AI 導向的建議可協助您決定適當的存取權限。

自動偵測調職或解雇之類的職務調動情形,採行相應的工作流程變更或移除存取權限。

標記向經理提出的高風險存取要求,並自動化處理低風險要求。

完整、可供稽核的記錄,詳載哪些人要求過存取哪些系統,以及哪些人核准或拒絕了該等要求。

利用歷史身分資料調查和診斷使用者存取權限,快速回應稽核員要求。

指派管理存取權限的恰當資料負責人,藉此減輕 IT 的負擔。

最後,許多規章直接以如 SP NIST 800-53 或 ISO/IEC 27001 等標準為依據。 這些標準對於保護存取權限和身分的優先順序沒有明確的規定;兩者都有專門針對存取控制擬定的完整章節。 舉例來說,NIST 800-53 (Rev4) 編定出大約 18 類的控制措施,存取控制編號共編訂了 25 個特定類別。 這些存取權限類別包括:

  • 存取控制原則和程序 (AC-1)
  • 權責區分 (AC-5)
  • 最低權限 (AC-6)
  • 工作階段終止 (AC-12)
  • 遠端存取 (AC-17)
  • 行動裝置存取控制 (AC-19)

新的法規遵循成本計算

您可能會提出異議:在規章愈來愈多的狀況下,維持法規遵循並不符合成本效益,可以直接接受財務處罰的風險。 事實上,企業成本包括品牌傷害、客戶流失及商譽損失。 監管財務處罰手段仍然會持續祭出,而且裁罰金額只會逐步墊高 (每次違法時,您還是要花錢解決)。 此外,如果違反了某個規章,您很可能也違反了其他規章。 請務必瞭解,大多數現有法規遵循程序的高昂成本是人工處理及效率不彰所致。

身分治理可確保存取權限隨時都獲得妥善管理,藉此滿足保護資料隱私權的一般核心需求。 應用至身分治理方案的新技術 (如自動化和 AI/ML) 可大幅減低運作成本,還可降低財務處罰的風險。 您現在就可以運用這種基本方法達成法規遵循,並針對後續 (必然的) 的新規章做好準備。

保護資料隱私權正是客戶和消費者所需要,也是企業應盡的本份,而不只是因為法律規定所以您只好照辦。 數位轉型涉及將資料和工作負載移往雲端、部署自動化程度更高的程序及為員工和客戶提供更靈活、更有效率的服務,而這需要可擴充、可調整及更加自動化的身分治理。

瞭解 SailPoint Predictive Identity™

SailPoint 可供您建立更穩健的身分治理措施,讓法規遵循更加符合成本效率,還可享有其他益處。 簡化存取並提高業務處理速度,同時為未來的法規遵循奠定穩固基礎。

  • 不論是位於檔案儲存庫或雲端平台 (AWS、Azure 和 GCP),都可自動搜尋敏感資料所在位置。
  • 瞭解誰有權存取哪些內容,並依據原則持續調整存取權限,讓「應該」有權存取的人具備存取權限,並將無權存取的人排除在外。
  • 施行控制措施以利達成法規遵循,並自動實施適當的存取,例如權責區分、最低權限等等。
  • 存取決策與現行原則不符時獲得警示。
  • 找出因過度授權及危險使用者行為所致的法規遵循缺口。
  • 維持詳細的稽核記錄,可向稽核員證明法規遵循狀態,也可跟董事會溝通。

危害企業為資料保護所做的努力的因素愈來愈多。 大幅仰賴人工記錄和人工處理的身分治理方法已不再切合實際,也不嚴謹。 採用 AI 與 ML 且更加自動化的身分治理解決方案可處理許多量大、重複性的存取保護功能。 此解決方案也能更快速地點出需要關注的層面和活動:讓企業更加瞭解需要人為介入或修正的問題。

瞭解 SailPoint 如何幫助您的企業。

*必填欄位

By submitting this form, you understand and agree that use of SailPoint’s web site is subject to SailPoint Technologies’ Privacy Statement.

• Data Access Governance
  • Security
May 27, 2020

As the number of users and individual points of access continues to grow, so too does the risk, especially when many enterprises maintain millions of files, folders and other data repositories that house sensitive company and personally identifiable information. Without the right identity governance approach to manage and monitor access to these applications and data throughout each user’s lifecycle with the organization, enterprises expose themselves to a wide range of threats.

Securing Identity: The Foundation for Compliance

As the landscape surrounding protecting private and or confidential data continues to change – from the increasing number and complexity of regulations to the escalating costs of compliance – deploying strong, more automated identity governance takes on new urgency. Establishing a strong identity governance practice addresses a fundamental common denominator – identity and access control – across all compliance requirements, now and moving forward.

Protecting access to relevant data is at the core of data privacy – and strong identity governance is at the core of protecting access.

The Changing Data Privacy Landscape

Because of the confluence of several factors – particularly as it relates to achieving compliance with data privacy regulations – the business need for strong, more automated identity governance is growing.

The data landscape has become more complex. There is not just more enterprise data, but also shifting locations, critical application interdependencies, and growing inherent value in the data itself. There is more sensitive data than ever across applications, data repositories, and public clouds in every geography, many with their own set of data privacy regulations. Critical business applications are increasingly interdependent and require machine-to-machine access to private data. E-commerce payment transactions for example automatically pass private data entered on your website thru bank systems and third-party clearinghouses.

IDC predicts that by 2022, 90% of all new apps will feature microservices architectures; and 35% of all production apps will be cloud-native.

The increasing volume of private data coupled with its escalating value has both positive and negative business ramifications. The benefit is that businesses can leverage data to better understand and service clients, design new products, and make data-driven decisions. The downside is that cyber-criminals are targeting private data, both Personally Identifiable Information (PII) as well as valuable company data like financials, trade secrets, patents, etc. Sad testimony to the increasing value of private data is the rise in advanced malware attacks and publicly disclosed breaches.

Managing identity governance is challenged by the shifting nature of today’s workforce, which is more mobile, more remote, and more dynamic than ever. Organizations want the flexibility of more temporary, contractor and service provider relationships. Employees continue to look for more flexibility in workstyles. They want the same simple and rapid access across different devices, and the ability to change locations and devices as required to do their jobs. The rise of shadow IT, where departments such as DevOps circumvent established access and identity governance practices in pursuit of more speed and flexibility, is a good example of the challenges presented by today’s workforce.

In a 2019 survey of over 1,200 workers in the U.S. 30% work remotely full-time.

As digital transformation initiatives accelerate there is far more non-human, automated access to data – which also requires identity management. Extended, distributed infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) and workloads running across public clouds – both for the enterprise directly but also for invoking third party services – relies on machine-to-machine access provided automatically. The emergence of robotic process automation (RPA) is another good example of the increasing need for securing automated access.

Compliance Is an Oncoming Train

Data privacy regulations will continue to grow in number, scope, and subsequent financial risks to the enterprise. Achieving and maintaining regulatory compliance can easily get out of control – especially when there are so many data privacy laws that have been established and many more on the horizon. Protecting data by securing access to it requires a strong identity governance practice which addresses many fundamental regulatory requirements and lays a solid foundation for compliance moving forward.

Industry or sector specific regulations have been around for some time. Some of the more noteworthy include HIPAA in the U.S., and globally, PCI DSS for protecting private credit card data. Both these regulations call for

  • Control of access and identities;
  • Knowing where your sensitive data is;
  • Knowing who has access;
  • Managing that access with different levels of identity controls and policies;
  • Tracking and recording access for required audits.

Many high-profile regulations focus on protecting consumer data and require breach disclosures. The paradigm is the E.U.’s GDPR, which came online May 25, 2018. In the U.S., there is the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) of January 1, 2020. Other countries have also enacted their own data privacy and breach regulations:

  • Brazil’s General Data Protection Law (Lei Geral de Proteção de Dados or LGPD);
  • South Africa’s Protection of Personal Information (POPI);
  • Philippine’s’ Data Privacy Act of 2012 (PDPA);
  • Australia’s Federal Privacy Act and Privacy Principles (APPs).

Compliance Starts with Visibility on PII Data

Out-of-the-box policies help you find and classify Personally Identifiable Information (PII), whether in file storage or cloud – AWS, Azure, and GCP).

Identify PII data residing on-premise or in public clouds, e.g. AWS, Azure, GCP.

Identify stale PII data or data stored in inappropriate locations.

Identifying PII data that has open access or does not have a data owner so you can take steps to control access.

HIPAA and Identity Governance

Deliver timely, appropriate access to patient records by giving healthcare providers greater visibility and control over who has access to what, when and where.

Reduce operational costs by streamlining access to systems and applications and improving data sharing between clinicians.

Enable compliant data sharing by mitigating risk of exposing sensitive information to unauthorized users.

Drive compliance through process documentation for audits.

Beyond the identity access controls stipulated in the examples above, consumer-oriented regulations also call for:

  • Access by the consumer to all data collected about them;
  • Ability to delete their data and opt out of the sale of their personal data;
  • Provisions to move their data to another service provider;
  • The right to be forgotten, and, in the case of a breach, the notification of all parties within a specified and limited period.

SailPoint Helps Automate Protection of Data

AI-driven recommendations to help you decide appropriate access.

Automatically detect job changes such as transfers or terminations and launch the workflow to change or remove access privileges.

Flag high-risk access requests to managers and automate low risk requests.

Complete, auditable record of who requested access to which systems and who approved or denied request.

Rapidly respond to auditor requests using historical identity data to investigate and diagnose user access.

Lessen the burden on IT by assigning the rightful data owner to manage access.

Finally, many regulations are based directly on standards such as SP NIST 800-53 or ISO/IEC 27001. These standards are unambiguous on the priority given to protecting access and identity; both have entire sections dedicated to access control. NIST 800-53 (Rev4) for example is organized around 18 families of controls, of which access control figures prominently with 25 specific categories. These access categories include:

  • Access Control Policy and Procedures (AC-1)
  • Separation of Duties (AC-5)
  • Least Privilege (AC-6)
  • Session Termination (AC-12)
  • Remote Access (AC-17)
  • Access Control for Mobile Devices (AC-19)

The New Compliance Calculus

You may argue that the expense of maintaining compliance in the face of increasing regulations is not cost effective and simply accept the risk of financial penalties. The reality is business costs include damage to brand, lost customers and credibility. Regulatory financial penalties will be ongoing and only escalate (and you will still spend to address infractions each and every time). In addition, if non-compliant with one regulation you are likely exposed for others. But it’s important to realize that the costliness of most existing compliance processes results from the fact they are manual and inefficient.

Identity governance can address the common core requirement protecting data privacy by ensuring access is well managed at all times. New technologies such as automation and AI/ML applied to an identity governance program can significantly mitigate operating costs – and reduce the risks of financial penalties. Using this foundational approach, you can be compliant now and be ready for the next (inevitable) new regulation.

It turns out that protecting data privacy is what customers and consumers want; it is what you need to do as a business – not just because it is prescribed by regulations. Digital transformation which involves moving data and workloads to the cloud, deploying more automated processes, and empowering employees and clients with more flexible and productive services – requires scalable, adaptive and more automated identity governance.

Check Out SailPoint Predictive Identity™

SailPoint enables you to build a strong identity governance practice for cost effective compliance—and more. Simplify access and accelerate your business while also building a foundation for future compliance.

  • Automatically discover where sensitive data resides whether in file storage or cloud platform – AWS, Azure, and GCP.
  • See who has access to what and based on policy, continually adjust access so that those who “should” have access do, and those who do not are locked out.
  • Implement controls to meet regulatory compliance and automatically enforce proper access, e.g. separation of duties, least privilege, etc.
  • Receive alerts when access decisions are not compliant with current policies.
  • Identify where compliance gaps exist due to excess permissions and risky user access.
  • Maintain a detailed audit trail to demonstrate compliance to auditors and communicate to the board.

The vectors that can compromise an organization’s data protection efforts are growing and dynamic. An identity governance approach that is largely dependent on human book-keeping and manual processes is simply no longer practical – nor prudent. A more automated, identity governance solution that employs AI and ML helps do a lot of the bulk, repetitive functions of protecting access. It also more quickly surfaces areas and activity that needs attention – providing a better view of what requires human intervention or remediation.

Find out how SailPoint can help your organization.

*required field

By submitting this form, you understand and agree that use of SailPoint’s web site is subject to SailPoint Technologies’ Privacy Statement.